Function Magazine

Art, Fashion and Entertainment

Country Music Hall of Fame

Posted by elegant On July - 30 - 2014

The Country Music Hall of Fame (CMF) intends to preserve and protect country music and educate its audiences. Located in Nashville, Tennessee it serves wider clientele connected to the country music industry. Started in 1961 honoring Jimmie Rogers, Fred Rose and Hank Williams, The CMF continued to honor many country artists over decades. Some of its more recent well- known inductees includes Kenny Rogers, Garth Brooks, Reba McEntire, Jimmy Dean, Roy Clerk and many others. The Country Music Association (CMA) created CMF to recognize individuals for their contribution to the cause. A CMA’s Panels of Electors who are anonymous members appointed by the CMA Board selects all inductees. They hold Medallion Ceremony at the facility to pay tribute to inductees through words and songs. A bronze plaque is unveiled for each inductee and displays at the museum rotunda.

The 2014 inductees were disclosed on April 22, 2014 based three categories; modern area category, veteran era category and songwriter category. To be nominated and selected as a modern era category, the inductee must have received national prominence more than 20 years ago. Veteran category inductees require receiving national prominence more than 45 years ago. CMA and CMF provides avenues and recognize talent in the field of country music.

Comments are closed.